Law & Order: Special Victims Unit Season Episodes on DVD


Overview of the Law and Order Special Victims Unit TV Show

Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (often abbreviated to Law & Order: SVU) is an American police procedural television drama series set in New York City.  The Law & Order: Special Victims Unit television show was created and produced by Dick Wolf and airing on the NBC television network. The Law and Order SVU TV series premiered on September 20, 1999 as the first spin-off of Wolf’s successful crime drama, Law & Order.

The Law & Order: Special Victims Unit show originally centered around the police detectives of the Special Victims Unit in a fictional version of the 16th Precinct of the New York City Police Department (NYPD). In the style of the original Law & Order, episodes are often taken from current newspaper headlines or loosely based on crimes that really happened. This helps keep the subject matter fresh and relevant to the viewing audience.

The show stars actor Christopher Meloni as Detective Elliot Stabler, a senior detective in the Manhattan SVU, and Mariska Hargitay as his partner, Detective Olivia Benson, a rookie to the unit and the child of a rape. As the TV series progressed, additional supporting characters were added as allies of the detectives in the Manhattan District Attorney’s office and the Medical Examiner’s office. Typical episodes follow the detectives and their colleagues as they investigate and prosecute sexually based offenses around the city.

  • Law & Order Special Victims Unit – The First Year on DVD – A six disc boxed set that includes 22 episodes from the first season.
  • Law & Order: Special Victims Unit – The Second Year on DVD – Features all 21 episodes from the second season and bonus features such as deleted scenes, character profiles, and cast interaction with real police detectives.
  • The Third Season on DVD
  • The Fourth Year on DVD – Includes all 25 episodes from season 4.
  • The Fifth Year on DVD
  • Year Six on DVD – This set features 23 episodes from season 6 in a five-disc set.
  • The Seventh Year on DVD – Includes 22 episodes from season 7 on a 5 disc set.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here