Government, Lists of Lists

Presidents of the United States of America

list of U.S. presidents

List of Presidents of the United States

The President of the United States is the head of state and head of government of the United States of America.  The U.S. President is the highest political official in the United States by influence and recognition. The President of the United States leads the executive branch of the federal government and is one of only two nationally elected federal officers (the other being the vice president of the United States).

Responsibilities of the American President

Among other powers and responsibilities, Article II of the United States Constitution charges the president with the following responsibilities:

  • To “faithfully execute” federal law
  • Makes the president the commander-in-chief of the United States armed forces
  • Allows the president to nominate executive and judicial officers with the advice and consent of the Senate
  • Allows the president to grant pardons and reprieves

Due to the United States’ status as the only true remaining superpower, the president of the United States is generally regarded by Americans as the most powerful person in the world.

How is the U.S. President Elected?

The president of the USA is indirectly elected by the people of the country through the Electoral College to a four-year term.  Since 1951, all presidents have been limited to two terms by the Twenty-second Amendment to the Constitution.

List of American Presidents

Following is a list of U.S. Presidents.  As you can see from the list, there have been 44 U.S. American Presidents to date.  American presidents are elected to a term of 4 years and may serve a maximum of 2 terms (eight years).  Some U.S. American presidents in the list served for a longer period before the term limitation on U.S. Presidents was put into effect.  Also, some of the Presidents on the list only served a year or two of their term due to death in office.

The following is list of all United States Presidents names in order.  The list shows the order of service, the years that each president spent in office, and the presidential party.

List of U.S. American Presidents in Order

#US President Name

Years as President

Presidential Party

1George Washington1789-1797
2John Adams1797-1801Federalist
3Thomas Jefferson1801-1809Democratic-Republican
4James Madison1809-1817Democratic-Republican
5James Monroe1817-1825Democratic-Republican
6John Quincy Adams1825-1829Democratic-Republican
7Andrew Jackson1829-1837Democrat
8Martin Van Buren1837-1841Democrat
9William Henry Harrison1841-1841(died In office)Whig
10John Tyler1841-1845Whig
11James K. Polk1845-1849Democrat
12Zachary Taylor1849-1850Whig
13Millard Fillmore1850-1853Whig
14Franklen Pierce1853-1857Democrat
15James Buchanan1857-1861Democrat
16Abraham Lincoln1861-1865Republican
17Andrew Johnson1865-1869Democrat/National Union
18Gen. Ulysses S. Grant1869-1877Republican
19Rutherford B. Hayes1877-1881Republican
20James A. Garfield1881(died in office)Republican
21Chester A. Arthur1881-1885Republican
22Grover Cleveland1885-1889Democrat
23Benjamin Harrison1889-1893Republican
24Grover Cleveland1893-1897Democrat
25William McKinley1897-1901Republican
26Theodore Roosevelt1901-1909Republican
27William Howard Taft1909-1913Republican
28Woodrow Wilson1913-1921Democrat
29Warren G. Harding1921-1923Republican
30Calvin Coolidge1923-1929Republican
31Herbert Hoover1929-1933Republican
32Franklin D. Roosevelt1933-1945Democrat
33Harry S. Truman1945-1953Democrat
34Dwight D. Eisenhower1953-1961Republican
35John F. Kennedy1961-1963Democrat
36Lyndon B. Johnson1963-1969Democrat
37Richard M. Nixon1969-1974Republican
38Gerald R. Ford1974-1977Republican
39Jimmy Carter1977-1981Democrat
40Ronald Reagan1981-1989Republican
41George Bush1989-1993Republican
42Bill Clinton1993-2001Democrat
43George W. Bush2001-2009Republican
44Barack H. Obama2009 -PresentDemocrat

Other Presidential Facts and Information

  • There have been 44 U.S. American Presidents to date.  Barack Obama is the 44th President.
  • Theodore Roosevelt was the youngest president to take office at age 42

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.