This article explains how to get a private investigator license in Nevada. The article provides information on the state licensing authority, a list of general requirements and contact information. In addition, it covers information on private investigator associations and training resources.
Nevada State Licencing Authority
Private Investigator licensing in the state of Nevada is handled by the Nevada State Licensing Board. This agency is responsible for conducting background investigations on applicants, administering compliance audits of licensees, preparing disciplinary matters for Board review and investigating various complaints of misconduct of a licensee or unlicensed activity.
This agency is pro-active in promoting effective regulation and enforcement; provides training and education to our licensees as well as the general public; and is focused on eliminating unlicensed activity.
State of Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board
Carson City Location:
704 W. Nye Lane, Suite 203
Carson City, Nevada 89703
(775) 687-3226 – Fax
Las Vegas Location:
3110 S. Durango Drive, Suite 202
Las Vegas, Nevada 89117
(702) 486-3009 – Fax
Email: [email protected]
State Law: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-648.html
General Licensing Requirements
Requirements to get a Nevada P.I. License include:
- Applicant must be at least 21 years of age
- Applicant must be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States
- Applicant must be of good moral character and temperate habits
- Applicant must have no conviction of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon
- Must undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Department of Public Safety (DPS) and California Department of Justice (CDOJ) if you have lived in or ever visited the State of California
- Must have five years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) of investigative experience. An associate’s degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 8 months or 1,333 hours, and a Bachelor’s Degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3000 hours of experience. Experience must be certified by your employer on the forms provided in the application
Other special licensing requirements such as education requirements, experience requirements, examinations, and insurance may be required. Check the state licensing website for more information. See also, the Nevada State law and the Private Investigator’s Licensing Handbook.
Nevada Private Investigator Associations
Once you get a private investigator license, we recommend that you join a private investigation industry association. The Nevada Society of Professional Investigators works with the State of Nevada Private Investigator’s Licensing Board to confront unlicensed activity, educate its members regarding investigative matters, safeguard the general public, lobby, and set a higher professional standard among fellow P.I.’s in the State of Nevada.
List of Investigation Agencies in Nevada
To help fulfill your five years of investigative experience, use our list of private investigators in the state of Nevada to find a job. This list will also be helpful once you are licensed.
Training and Education Resources
Use our list of Training Resources to identify training courses, certification programs or home study courses.
Questions and Comments
If you have any questions about how to get a private investigator license in Nevada, please post a message below.