How To Become a Licensed Private Investigator in California
Private investigator licensing in California is handled by the Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services.
Physical Address – 2420 Del Paso Rd., Ste. 270, Sacramento, CA 95834
Licensing Address – P.O. Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798
Phone – (916) 322-4000 or (800) 952-5210
Fax – (916) 575-7290
The following is general licensing information. Please visit the website listed above for specific licensing information, application forms, insurance requirements, fees and any special licensing requirements. The applicant must:
- Be 18 year of age or older.
- Undergo a criminal history background check. The check will be performed by both the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).
- Have at least three years (2,000 hours each year, for a total of 6,000 hours) of compensated experience in the field of investigative work; or
- have a law degree or have completed a four-year course in police science, plus two years (4,000 hours) of experience; or
- have an associate’s degree in police science, criminal law, or justice and 2 ½ years (5,000 hours) of experience.
- Experience must be certified by your employer and have been received while you were employed as a sworn law enforcement officer, military police officer, insurance adjuster, employee of a licensed PI or licensed repossessor, arson investigator for a public fire suppression agency, or an investigator for the public defender’s office.
- Please note that work as a process server, public records researcher, custodial attendant for a law enforcement agency, bailiff, agent who collects debts in writing or by telephone after the debtor has been located, or person who repossesses property after it has been located is not considered to be qualifying experience.)
- Pass a two-hour multiple-choice exam which covers laws and regulations, terminology, civil and criminal liability, evidence handling, undercover investigations and surveillance. A copy of the Private Investigator Act will be sent to you.
- Once you are notified that you passed the examination, you must submit a licensing fee of $175 to the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, P.O. Box 989002, West Sacramento, CA 95798-9002. Please be sure to check the website first, as the fee amount may change.
State Private Investigator Associations
Associations are a great resource for both aspiring and existing P.I.’s. We highly recommend joining a state or national association to take advantage of the training, resource and networking opportunities offered by such organizations. They can be a great source of business through information and case sharing. Also, they are a great way to stay informed of legislative changes and legal issues.
- California Association of Licensed Investigators – The largest private investigator association in the world. Join and take advantage of their broad membership base to network and learn from others.
- Certified Investigative Professionals – Certified Investigative Professionals Inc. ® (CIPI), is a membership organization consisting of investigative professionals and affiliates, whose mission is to promote a standard of excellence among individual investigators, enhance public confidence in the profession, and represent the industry in business, education, and political forums
- California Associate Photocopiers and Process Servers (CCAPPS)
- California Association of Polygraph Examiners
Hire a Private Detective
Hire a Private Investigator in California – Many states require that newly licensed P.I.’s must be sponsored by an existing agency for a period of time. Visit our directory to find a private investigation agency to sponsor you as a beginning private eye.
Training Resources – Improve your chances of getting licensed by completing a certificate or degree program, training course, or home study course. Learn what options are available to get the investigative knowledge necessary to get licensed.
Wyoming Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Currently, Wyoming does not have state-level requirements for private investigators to be licensed. Some municipalities
Georgia Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Private Investigator licensing in the state of Georgia is handled by the Georgia State Board
Wisconsin Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Licensing Authority Private Investigator licensing in Wisconsin is handled by the Wisconsin Department of Safety