Learn How to Get a Private Investigator License in Arkansas
If you want to get a private investigator license in Arkansas, be prepared. Of all the state licensing rules, regulations, and procedures we’ve looked at, Arkansas is the most confusing. In the following article, we’ll breakdown the process and help you get started. We’ll provide you with details on the state licensing authority, the general licensing requirements, a list of private investigation associations, training recommendations, and whatever else we can uncover to help you get licensed.
State Licensing Authority
First, let’s start with the government organization that’s responsible for licensing. In Arkansas, the Arkansas State Police is responsible for oversight and licensing of private investigators and private security companies. Their contact information is as follows:
Arkansas State Police
One State Police Plaza Dr
Little Rock, AR 72209
Phone Number: 501-618-8000
To view the section of their website that deals specifically with private investigator licensing, go here.
There is a list of contact information for specific individuals on their website. If you have any questions about the licensing process, or if you need assistance at any phase of the application process, give them a call and ask for help directly.
State Statutes and Rules
All applicants for a Class A or D license must complete the following training requirements if they do not meet the experience requirements of a manager as:
- 15 hours of basic doctrines of private security (orientation) including history,
ethics, organization and functions of private security;
- 15 hours of purposes of security
- 25 hours of criminal law
- 25 hours of civil law
- Five hours of legal powers and limitations
- 40 hours of security functions including report writing, patrol, interviewing
and interrogation, investigations, surveillance, evidence, public relations, and safety;
- Five hours of A.C.A. § 17-39-101, et seq. and A.C.A. § 14-40-101, et seq.;
- 60)hours of security supervision management including administrative
responsibilities, investigative responsibilities, managerial responsibilities, and business
- 10 hours of emergencies and disaster control
- 10 hours of self defense (armed and unarmed)
Licensing Requirements and Application Process
An applicant for a New Credential Private Investigator (CPI) is required to work under the supervision of a qualified manager of a class A company. In addition, the applicant must pass an exam administered by the Arkansas State Police. To become a CPI, you must obtain a score of 70% or above on the exam. If you get below that score, you can retake the exam in five working days, but you have to pay a $50 re-exam fee. If you fail again, your application is canceled and you must reapply and pay the application fees again.
The examination consists of a minimum of 100 questions that cover the subjects described in the training section above, the Private Security & Alarm Services Rules, field note taking and report writing, and the Arkansas Criminal Code.
If you have five consecutive years in law enforcement and are either currently employed or retired within the past five years, you are exempt from the exam requirement.
All applications require two classifiable sets of fingerprints. The fingerprints can be taken by any law enforcement agency, Harvester, or at State Police Headquarters in Little Rock. Private Investigator / Security fingerprint cards are available upon request at 501-618-8600. In addition, all applications require two current passport-style photos. Please write the applicant’s name on the back of the photograph and secure it in a sealed envelope.
- Download and complete the application for a New Credential Private Investigator (CPI).
- Attach your passport photos to the application
- Attach a check in the amount of $485 to the application. The $485 includes the cost to get a private investigator license and the cost of a background check, which is required for all applicants.
Other special licensing requirements such as insurance may be required. Check the state licensing website for more information.
Arkansas maintains reciprocal agreements relating to private investigator licenses issued by the states of Tennessee, Louisiana, and Oklahoma. To qualify for reciprocity, the license must be current, and the applicant must have been licensed in the reciprocal state for at least two consecutive years.
Private Investigator Associations in Arkansas
After you get a private investigator license in Arkansas, join one of the state’s investigator associations to network with others in the industry, learn about laws and legislation affecting the practice and get access to training and education opportunities. Following are the main associations in the state:
- Arkansas Association of Professional Private Investigators (AAPPI)
- Private Investigator’s Association of Arkansas (PIAA)
See our full list of investigation associations in all states.
List of Investigation Agencies in Arkansas
Visit our directory of private eyes and private investigation agencies in Arkansas to find a private investigation agency to sponsor you as a beginning private investigator.
Questions and Comments
If you have any questions about how to get a private investigator license in Arkansas, please post a comment below. If you would like to learn about licensing requirements in other states, please check out the Private Investigator Licensing Handbook.