Learn How To Get a Private Investigator License in Alabama
This article explains how to get a private investigator’s license in Alabama. It covers the state licensing authority, the general requirements for getting a license, and how to apply. Also, you’ll find helpful advice on training, joining an investigation association, and how to find a job.
State Licensing Authority
Until recently, private investigators were not required to be licensed in the state of Alabama. However, in June of 2013, the Alabama legislature introduced Senate Bill 172. There was nearly unanimous support for the bill in both the House and Senate. Bill 172 was sponsored by Senator Bill Holtzclaw of Madison, Alabama, and Representative Howard Sanderford from Huntsville, Alabama.
The Alabama private investigator licensing board is chosen by the governor, community, and other state and local groups. In the near future, private investigators will be required to submit their fingerprints and undergo background checks. Also, investigators will have to complete continuing education courses just like private eyes in many other states.
To apply for a license or get more information, contact the state’s licensing authority at:
Minimum Requirements To Get a Private Investigator License in Alabama
The following are the minimum requirements that must be met by an individual to obtain a license in the state.
- First, the applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
- Next, the applicant has not been declared by any court of competent jurisdiction incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease (unless a court of competent jurisdiction has subsequently declared the applicant competent).
- Has not been convicted of a crime of moral turpitude (with the Board having the final determination on the interpretation of moral turpitude).
- Hasn’t been convicted of a felony crime.
- Has passed an examination by the Board designed to measure knowledge and competence in the investigation field;
Or, be an investigator holding a current business license in the state of Alabama on the effective date of the adoption of the rules and regulations of the Board. The opportunity to apply for a private investigator license issued under this rule shall expire 365 days after the implementation of the rules and regulations of the Board. Holders of these licenses shall be eligible to renew their licenses, as are any other licensed private investigators.
Please visit the website for a complete list of requirements and to learn the steps involved in the application process. Also, check out the Private Investigator’s Licensing Handbook, available at Amazon for just $3.69.
Alabama Private Investigator Associations
Once you get a license, I recommend that you join the Alabama Private Investigators Association (APIA). Mainly, the association is dedicated to bringing one voice to all investigators in the state of Alabama and common standards and training. The APIA’s website has information on members, association’s by-laws, committees, meetings, and contact details. The APIA lobbied heavily to encourage the state to begin regulating private investigators.
If you’re looking for a job as a private investigator, visit our Alabama Private Investigator Directory to view a list of agencies in your area. To begin, contact each agency to see if they have any open positions.
Private Investigator Training Resources – Improve your chances of getting licensed by completing a degree or certification program, training course, or home study course. Learn what options are available to get the private investigation knowledge necessary to get licensed.
Questions and Comments
If you have any questions about how to get a private investigator license in Alabama, please post a message below.