This article explains how to get a Private Investigator license in North Carolina. We’ll provide an overview of the state licensing authority, a list of the general requirements, and recommended training.
North Carolina State Licensing Authority
Private Investigator licensing in the state of North Carolina is handled by the North Carolina Private Protective Services Board. The Private Protective Services Board is part of the North Carolina Department of Public Safety. Primarily, its purpose is to administer the licensing, education, and training requirements for people or agencies engaged in private protective services in the state of North Carolina.
Licensing Authority Contact Information
This physical and mailing address is:
3101 Industrial Drive, Suite 104, Raleigh, NC 27609
General Licensing Requirements to get a Private Investigator License in North Carolina
The following is general licensing information. Please visit the website listed above for specific licensing information, application forms, insurance requirements, fees, and any special licensing requirements. All applicants must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Must have a high school degree or equivalent
- Be a United States citizen or a resident alien
- Be of good moral character with temperate habits (cannot have a criminal record)
In addition, you must have three years of experience in private investigative work. Or, you must have three years in an investigative capacity as a member of a law enforcement agency or other governmental agency.
How to Apply
Before you apply, review the application checklist. Once all documents are acquired (and in digital format for uploading) go here to begin the process online.
The Board currently has reciprocal licensing agreements with California, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. These agreements allow currently licensed private investigators from these states to come into North Carolina for a specific period of time (30 days maximum, except for Tennessee, which is 15 days) to work a case that originated in their home state. Visit the website for more detailed information on reciprocity rules.
Join a North Carolina Private Investigator Association
Once you have a license, we recommend that you join the North Carolina State Private Investigator Association. The North Carolina Association of Private Investigators, Inc. was chartered in 1987 and is the oldest association of Private Investigators in the state. Visit the website for more information about the organization and learn how to become a member. Also, you’ll find news articles, newsletters, and details of upcoming events and conferences in the area.
List of Investigation Agencies in North Carolina
If you’re looking for a job, view our list of North Carolina Private Investigators. The list will help you find existing private investigators and investigation agencies to contact.
- Training Resources – Improve your chances of getting licensed by completing a private investigator degree program, training course, or home study course. Learn what options are available to get the private investigation knowledge necessary to get licensed.
- Check out the Private Investigator’s Licensing Handbook (eBook), available at Amazon.com.
Questions and Comments
If you have any additional questions about how to get a private investigator license in the state of North Carolina, please post a message below.