How To Become a Licensed Private Investigator in Kansas
Kansas Licensing Requirements
If you’re interested in becoming a private investigator in the state of Kansas, the following information will be quite helpful in getting started. Private investigator licensing in the state of Kansas is handled by the Kansas Attorney General’s Office Private Detective Licensing Unit. Their contact information is as follows:
Private Detective Licensing Unit
120 SW 10th Ave., 2nd Floor
Topeka, KS 66612-1597
Fax: (785) 368-6468
To become a licensed private investigator in the state, you must meet the following requirements:
- You must be at least 21 years old and citizen of the United States and of good moral character.
- You must have graduated from high school or a General Education Diploma (GED) certificate.
- You must not have any felony convictions. No misdemeanors convictions within the past ten years.
- Must verify that you are not incompetent, incapacitated or impaired by reason of mental condition, deficiency or disease.
- Must not be addicted to, dependent on or abusive of alcohol or a controlled substance.
- All Private Detectives must have a $100,000 corporate surety bond, or general liability insurance providing $100,000 of coverage for bodily injury or property damage caused by negligence and errors or omissions, or deposit $100,000 with the State Treasurer.
- Must pass an open book examination on the Private Detective Licensing Act.
- Must pass a background investigation
Requirements may change, so please visit the website for the most up-to-date instructions related to the licensing application process. Other special licensing requirements such as education requirements, experience requirements, examinations, and insurance may be required. Check the state licensing website for specific details.
Kansas Private Investigator Associations
Whether you’re a season professional, or you’re just starting a career, an industry association is a great way to learn more about the profession, get access to training and development opportunities, and to network with others who do similar work. The best place to start in the state is the Kansas Association of Private Investigators. Also known as KAPI, The Kansas Association of Private Investigators, is a non-profit corporation that was formed to establish and perpetuate high ethical and professional standards and excellence of professional service in the private investigative industry in accordance with the association’s Code of Ethics. Another greater resource is the Kansas Association of Licensed Investigators, which is a comprehensive organization of detectives and investigative agencies serving the citizens and other organizations for all of their investigative needs.
Hire a Private Detective in Kansas
Hire a Private Investigator Agency – To hire a private investigator in any state in the U.S., please visit our worldwide directory of investigation agencies. Our directory may also help you find an agency to sponsor your training and certification efforts, and help you comply with state licensing requirements.
Training Resources – Improve your chances of getting licensed by completing a professional degree program, training course, or home study course. Learn what options are available to get the investigative knowledge necessary to get licensed and begin your career.
Nebraska Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Private Investigator licensing in the state of Nebraska is handled by the Nebraska Secretary of
Mississippi Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Currently, a private investigator license is not required for the state of Mississippi. Since laws
Georgia Private Investigator Licensing Requirements Private Investigator licensing in the state of Georgia is handled by the Georgia State Board