List of the Best John Grisham Books

List of John Grisham books
A list of John Grisham books

This article provides a list of the best John Grisham books.

John Grisham was born in 1955 in Jonesboro, Arkansas. As a child, he dreamed of becoming a professional baseball player. However, he later decided that he wanted to become a lawyer. After earning a law degree from Old Miss in 1981, he practiced law at a firm in Southaven, MS. He specialized in criminal defense and personal injury claims.

In his spare time, he began translating his experiences into his first novel, A Time to Kill. In 1983, he was elected to the state House of Representatives and served there until 1990. Since then, he has continued to write legal thrillers at a pace of about one book per year. Now, he is considered the number one-selling author of the legal thriller.

This article provides a list of the best John Grisham books from the past 30 years:

A Time to Kill (1989)
Sycamore Row (2013)
Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer (2010)
The Abduction (2011)
The Accused (2012)
The Activist (2013)
The Fugitive (2015)
The Scandal (2016)
The Firm (1991)
The Pelican Brief (1992)
The Client (1993)
The Chamber (1994)
The Rainmaker (1995)
The Runaway Jury (1996)
The Partner (1997)
The Street Lawyer (1998)
The Testament (1999)
The Brethren (2000)
A Painted House (2001)
Skipping Christmas (2001)
The Summons (2002)
The King of Torts (2003)
Bleachers (2003)
The Last Juror (2004)
The Broker (2005)
Playing for Pizza (2007)
The Appeal (2008)
The Associate (2009)
The Confession (2010)
The Litigators (2011)
Calico Joe (2012)
The Racketeer (2012)
Gray Mountain (2014)
Rogue Lawyer (2015)
The Whistler (2016)
Camino Island (2017)
The Rooster Bar (2017)
Ford County (2009)
The Innocent Man (2006)

Following is an overview of a random book from his collection:

The Racketeer by John Grisham is one of the best John Grisham books. It is a crime novel that will keep you turning pages in anticipation from beginning to end. Of course, just like the typical Grisham legal novel, this novel is filled with many interesting characters and has no shortage of unexpected plot twists. This brief article provides an overview of the book and where you can buy it.

Brief Overview of the Book

In the history of the United States, only four actively serving federal judges have ever been murdered. Judge Raymond Fawcett has just become the fifth one to be killed. The police found his body in his remote lakeside cabin. Yet, there was no sign of forced entry or that a struggle may have occurred. The only thing the police find is two dead bodies: one belonging to Judge Fawcett and the other to his young and beautiful secretary. In addition, there is a large, state-of-the-art, highly secure safe, which has been opened and emptied of its valuable contents. In addition to the brutal murders, something was stolen from the safe. Was that the reason for the murders? Or was it just a bonus for the killer or killers? Or was it a cover-up to make it look like a robbery gone wrong?

The main character in The Racketeer is Malcolm Bannister. Malcolm, a former attorney, is in prison for a crime he says he didn’t commit. Malcolm claims he knows who killed Judge Fawcett and why they did it. But that man, Malcolm Bannister, currently resides in the Federal Prison Camp near Frostburg, Maryland. Although he is serving time, Malcolm has an ace up his sleeve. He has information that the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) would love to know. Malcolm would love to tell them. But everything has a price, and the man known as the Racketeer wasn’t born yesterday. He plans to leverage his knowledge to get himself out of prison.

If you’re into reading legal thrillers, nobody does it better than the master, John Grisham. This book delivers a series of twists that you’ll never see coming and is worth the read or the listen if you prefer audiobooks.

Physical Details of The Racketeer

The book is considered a “Mass Market Paperback,” written in English, totaling 400 pages. It was published on August 27, 2013, by Dell. It weighs eight ounces, and the dimensions are 0.9 x 4.2 x 7.4 inches. The ISBNs are as follows:

  • ISBN-10: 0345530578
  • ISBN-13: 978-0345530578

Here are a few quotes from the media:

  • “Exhilarating, surprising, and ingenious.”— Janet Maslin of The New York Times
  • “A satisfying, deeply engrossing thriller in which different forms of justice are ultimately served.”— from The Washington Post
  • “Fast-paced . . . with enough startling plot twists—and changes of scenery, from Miami to Montego Bay and beyond—to surprise even the most suspicious reader.”— from The Wall Street Journal.
  • “Tautly plotted.”— from Entertainment Weekly

Buy it now from – The Racketeer: A Novel by John Grisham

Also, learn about the crime known as Racketeering.

Questions and Comments

Please post a message below if you have any questions about this list of the best John Grisham books. Let us know which book is your favorite and why.

Michael Kissiah is the owner of Brandy Lane Publishing, LLC, which owns and operates a small portfolio of websites, including Michael created more than 20 years ago after working as a private investigator in the state of Florida. Since that time, he has become an expert at how to find information online and has written over 1000 articles on topics related to the investigation industry. In addition, he is the author of the "Private Investigator Licensing Handbook", available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.