Starsky & Hutch Television Series on DVD: TV Crime Drama at its Best

Starsky and Hutch

An Overview of the Starsky & Hutch TV Show

The Starsky & Hutch television series consisted of a 90-minute pilot movie (originally aired as a television Movie of the Week) and 92 episodes consisting of 60 minutes each. Starsky & Hutch was created by William Blinn and produced by Spelling-Goldberg Productions. The hit television series ran from 1975 to 1979 on the ABC television network.

The Starsky and Hutch series was distributed by Columbia Pictures Television in the United States and, originally, Metromedia Producers Corporation in Canada. Sony Pictures Television is the worldwide distributor for the series.

Much more than a typical 1970’s buddy cop show, Starsky and Hutch was noted for its sometimes envelope-pushing violence, extreme physicality, serious story lines, outrageous style, and humor. The show was later made into a movie starring Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson.

The Show’s Cast

The primary cast members on the show include:

  • Dave Starsky (played by actor Paul Michael Glaser)
  • Ken “Hutch” Hutchinson (played by actor David Soul)
  • Huggy Bear (Antonio Fargas)
  • Captain Dobey (Bernie Hamilton)

The show’s two main characters, Dave Starsky and Ken Hutch were California police detectives. As the two were detectives and not police officers, they weren’t required to drive the standard police patrol vehicle. The two drove around town in a slick, red and white Ford Gran Torino, which went on to become a visual symbol that was strongly associated with the show.

The two used an informant named Huggy Bear to obtain street-level information, or to “get the word on the street”. Huggy provided inside information he was hearing from his connections, which often provided helpful leads that led to solving the case.

Starsky & Hutch Television Series on DVD

  • Starsky & Hutch TV Series Season One on DVD – Includes 23 season episodes.
  • Season 2 on DVD – The package includes all 25 episodes from the second season.
  • Season 3 on DVD – Includes all 23 episodes from the third season.
  • Season 4 on DVD – The fourth and final season of the Starsky and Hutch television show on DVD / Video includes 22 episodes.  Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment Release Date: 10/17/2006 Run time: 1080 minutes

The complete series is available, which contains a total of 93 episodes.

Check out other Police Crime Dramas on DVD.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here