List of U.S. National Parks

List of National Parks in the United States
List of National Parks in the United States

About the U.S. National Parks

The National Park Service, an agency of the United States Department of the Interior, operates 59 protected areas comprising nearly 52 million acres of land known as National Parks. The Organic Act of 1916 created the National Park Service “to conserve the scenery and the natural and historic objects and wildlife, and to provide for enjoyment and to leave them unimpaired for the enjoyment of future generations.”


The criteria for selection includes:

  • Natural beauty of the area
  • Unique geological features
  • Unusual ecosystems
  • Recreational opportunities

The parks do not necessarily need to have all of these characteristics to qualify. The U.S. Congress is responsible for designating protected areas as National Parks. In recent months, the current President, Donald Trump, moved to remove some of the previously protected areas.

Interesting Facts

Following are a few interesting facts. If you know of others, please leave a comment below and we’ll add it to the list.

  • Yellowstone was the first National Park
  • The newest is the Pinnacles National Park, designated as such in 2013
  • Twenty seven states have national parks
  • California has the most of any state
  • The largest is Wrangell–St. Elias in Alaska, which has over 8 million acres in protected area
  • The Great Smoky Mountains in North Carolina and Tennessee is the most visited in the country
  • Some span multiple states such as Yellowstone (which spans through portions of three states, including Idaho, Montana and Wyoming) and The Great Smoky Mountains (which spans through portions of both North Carolina and Tennessee)

List of National Parks in the United States

Below is a list of National Parks located in the United States. Remember, not all states have national parks.


  • Denali National Park
  • Gates of the Arctic National Park
  • Glacier Bay National Park
  • Katmai National Park
  • Kenai Fjords National Park
  • Kobuk Valley National Park
  • Lake Clark National Park
  • Wrangell-St. Elias National Park


  • Grand Canyon National Park
  • Petrified Forest National Park
  • Saguaro National Park


  • Hot Springs National Park


  • Channel Islands National Park
  • Death Valley National Park (also located in Nevada)
  • Joshua Tree National Park
  • Kings Canyon National Park
  • Lassen Volcanic Park
  • Redwood National Park
  • Sequoia National Park
  • Yosemite National Park


  • Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park
  • Great Sand Dunes National Park
  • Mesa Verde National Park
  • Rocky Mountain National Park


  • Biscayne National Park
  • Dry Tortugas National Park
  • Everglades National Park


  • Haleakala National Park
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park


  • Yellowstone National Park (spans portions of Idaho, Wyoming and Montana)


  • Mammoth Cave


  • Acadia National


  • Isle Royale National Park


  • Voyageurs National Park


  • Glacier National Park
  • Yellowstone National Park  (spans portions of Idaho, Wyoming and Montana)


  • Death Valley National Park (also located in California)
  • Great Basin National Park

New Mexico

  • Carlsbad Caverns National Park

North Carolina

  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park  (spans portions of Tennessee and North Carolina)

North Dakota

  • Theodore Roosevelt National Park


  • Cuyahoga Valley National Park


  • Crater Lake National Park


  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (spans portions of Tennessee and North Carolina)


  • Shenandoah National Park

South Carolina

  • Congaree National Park

South Dakota

  • Badlands National Park
  • Wind Cave National Park


  • Big Bend National Park
  • Guadalupe Mountains National Park


  • Arches National Park
  • Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Canyonlands National Park
  • Capitol Reef National Park
  • Zion National Park


  • Mount Rainier National Park
  • North Cascades National Park
  • Olympic National Park


  • Grand Teton National Park
  • Yellowstone National Park  (spans portions of Idaho, Wyoming and Montana)

US Territories

  • American Samoa National Park (located in American Samoa Territory)
  • Virgin Islands National Park (located in US Virgin Islands)

View more Lists of Lists.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.