List of Magnum P.I. TV Series Season Episodes

Magnum P.I. TV Series
Magnum P.I. TV Series

Magnum, P.I. was a popular television show starring actor Tom Selleck as Thomas Magnum.  Thomas Magnum is a fictional private investigator living in Oahu, Hawaii.  The Magnum P.I. TV series ran from 1980 to 1988 (eight seasons) in first-run broadcast on the CBS television network for a total of 162 episodes.

The Magnum PI television series was created by Donald P. Bellisario and Glen A. Larson. The Magnum P.I. TV show was directed by Corey Allen, Ray Austin.

The basic premise of the Magnum P.I. television series is: A Former Naval Intelligence officer named Thomas Magnum resigns his commission in the Navy to become a private investigator on the north shore of Oahu, Hawaii.

The television season episodes chronicle the private investigation efforts of Thomas and his colleagues. The private detective show had the right balance of interesting plot, mystery action sequences, and humor.

The Magnum, P.I. television series consistently ranked in the top twenty U.S. television programs during the first five years the series was originally telecast in the United States. Undoubtedly, the show inspired many people to become a private investigator.

Magnum P.I. Television Show Episodes on DVD

Following are videos and DVDs of the popular TV series season episodes starring Tom Selleck.

Magnum, P.I. – The Complete First Season on DVD – The first season on DVD includes a five-disc package that contains the entire 18 episodes of the first season and a few rarely seen episodes. The two-part pilot episodes are also included in this exceptional set. The TV show became a major hit for a number of reasons. First, the considerable charm of its main character, Thomas Magnum, played by actor Tom Selleck.

In addition, the show was set in Hawaii and is filmed at numerous beautiful locations. In addition, the supporting cast is top notch, including his buddies T.C. and Rick, who are always there to help him out on a case, though they never miss an opportunity to give him a hard time. The scripting is always interesting, funny, and witty. Most of Thomas’s actions fail to meet the approval of Higgins, the servant to Robin Master’s estate where Thomas lives. The interactions and witty banter between the two characters is part of the show’s main appeal.

List of Magnum P.I. TV Series Episodes

Following is a list of episodes, grouped by season. The list includes the episode number and the title.

Season 1 – 1980 – 81
1 – Don’t Eat the Snow in Hawaii
2 – China Doll
3 – Thank Heaven for Little Girls and Big OnesToo
4 – No Need to Know
5 – Skin Deep
6 – Never Again…Never Again
7 – The Ugliest Dog in Hawaii
8 – Missing in Action
9 – Lest We Forget
10 – Curse of the King Kamehameha Club
11 – Thicker Than Blood
12 – All Roads Lead to Floyd
13 – Adelaide
14 – Don’t Say Goodbye
15 – The Black Orchid
16 – J. “Digger” Doyle
17 – Beauty Knows No Pain

Season 2: 1981 – 82
18 Billy Joe Bob
19 Dead Man’s Channel
20 The Woman on the Beach
21 From Moscow to Maui
22 Memories Are Forever Part 1
23 Memories Are Forever Part 2
24 Tropical Madness
25 Wave Goodbye
26 Mad Buck Gibson
27 The Taking of Dick McWilliams
28 The Sixth Position
29 Ghost Writer
30 The Jororo Kill
31 Computer Date
32 Try to Remember
33 Italian Ice
34 One More Summer
35 Texas Lightning
36 Double Jeopardy
37 The Last Page
38 The Elmo Ziller Story
39 Three Minus Two

Season 3: 1982–1983
40 Did You See the Sunrise?
41 Did You See the Sunrise? Part 2
42 Ki’i’s Don’tLie (Part1)
N/A Emeralds are Not a Girl’s Best Friend(Part 2, a Simon & Simon episode)
43 The Eighth Part of the Village
44 Past Tense
45 Black on White
46 Flashback
47 Foiled Again
48 Mr. White Death
49 Mixed Doubles
50 Almost Home
51 Heal Thyself
52 Of Sound Mind
53 The Arrow That Is Not Aimed
54 Basket Case
55 Birdman of Budapest
56 I Do?
57 Forty Years from Sand Island
58 Legacy from a Friend
59 Two Birds of a Feather
60 By Its Cover
61 The Big Blow
62 Faith and Begorrah

Season 4: 1983–84
63 Home from the Sea
64 Luther Gillis: File #521
65 Smaller than Life
66 Distant Relative
67 Limited Engagement
68 Letter to a Duchess
69 Squeeze Play
70 A Sense of Debt
71 The Look
72 Operation Silent Night
73 Jororo Farewell
74 The Case of the Red-Faced Thespian
75 No More Mr. Nice Guy
76 Rembrandt’s Girl
77 Paradise Blues
78 The Return of Luther Gillis
79 Let the Punishment Fit the Crime
80 Holmes Is Where the Heart Is
81 On Face Value
82 Dream a Little Dream
83 I Witness

Season 5: 1984–1985
84 Echoes of the Mind Part1
85 Echoes of the Mind Part2
86 Mac’s Back
87 The Legacy of GarwoodHuddle
88 Under World
89 Fragments
90 Blind Justice
91 Murder 101
92 Tran Quoc Jones
93 Luther Gillis: File #001
94 Kiss of the Sabre
95 Little Games
96 Professor JonathanHiggins
97 Compulsion
98 All for One Part 1
99 All for One Part 2
100 The-Love-For-Sale-Boat
101 Let Me Hear the Music
102 Ms Jones
103 The Man fromMarseilles
104 Torah, Torah, Torah
105 A Pretty Good Dancing Chicken

Season 6: 1985–1986
106 Déjà Vu Part 1
107 Déjà Vu Part 2
108 Old Acquaintance
109 The Kona Winds
110 The Hotel Dick
111 Round and Around
112 Going Home
113 Paniolo
114 The Treasure of Kalaniopu’u
115 Blood and Honor
116 Rapture
117 I Never Wanted to Go to France, Anyway
118 Summer School
119 Mad Dogs and Englishmen
120 All Thieves on Deck
121 This Island Isn’t Big Enough
122 Way of the Stalking Horse
123 Find Me a Rainbow
124 Who is Don Luis Higgins, and Why is He Doing These Terrible Things to Me?
125 A Little Bit of Luck, A Little Bit of Grief
126 Photo Play

Season 7: 1986–1987
127 L.A. Part 1
128 L.A. Part 2
129 OnePicture is Worth
130 Straight and Narrow
131 A.A.P.I.
132 Death and Taxes
133 Little GirlWho
134 Paper War
135 NovelConnection(Part 1)
N/A Magnum On Ice (Part 2, a Murder, She Wrote episode)
136 Kapu
137 Missing Melody
138 Death of the Flowers
139 Autumn Warrior
140 Murder byNight
141 On the Fly
142 Solo Flight
143 Forty
144 Laura
145 Out of Sync
146 The AuntWho Cameto Dinner
147 ThePeople vs. OrvilleWright
148 Limbo

Season 8: 1987–1988
149 Infinity and Jelly Doughnuts
150 PleasurePrinciple
151 Innocence…A Broad
152 Tigers Fan
153 Forever inTime
154 The Lovethat Lies
155 A GirlNamed Sue
156 Unfinished Business
157 The Great Hawaiian Adventure Company
158 Legend of the Lost Art
159 Transitions
160 Resolutions Part 1
161 Resolutions Part 2

Additional Facts

  • Tom Selleck won an Emmy in 1984 for his portrayal of Thomas Magnum
  • John Hillerman also won an Emmy in 1987 for his role as Higgins

Check out other Police Crime Dramas on DVD.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here